The Space (formerly St. Paul’s Isle of Dogs)

IMG_2312.JPG

269 Westferry Road, E14 3RS.

This interesting building has been beautifully re-purposed to be a performing arts venue with a cute cafe/bar and the patronage of Sir Ian McKellan.

But, it was built in 1859 as a Presbyterian church to cater for the influx of Scottish Presbyterian migrants who came to the area to work in the shipyards  – this is the docklands area after all.

There had been a mission in the area since the 1840s but they had not had the number to require a permanent place of worship and they didn’t have this congregation for long!

When the shipyards were closed in the 1960s and 70s the worshipping population declined severely and the church closed in 1972.

The St. Paul’s Art Trust was established in the 1989 and took over the now-vacant building. A lot of work has been done to restore it. Now visitors can enjoy a very detailed facade with lovely stain glass. Architecturally, it is revered for its demonstration of early use of laminated timber.

Worth checking out for the building, its story and the good it is now providing the local community!

Best nearby: The Space’s resident cafe/bar the Hubbub.

Advertisements